The National Scout Award ceremony organized by the Sri Lanka Scout Association was held under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena at the Nelum Pokuna Theatre, yesterday (22).

During the ceremony, which is held once in four years, the President presented Gold Lion Award to 20 distinguished members for their great contribution for the Scout movement. The Chief Minister of the Central Province, Sarath Ekanayake also received an award from the President.

In addition, 565 Scout Masters from all parts of the country received awards under several categories.

The President also presented awards to the Scout Commissioners from India, Korea, Malaysia and Nepal.

The objective of this award ceremony is to commend and encourage the persons who work voluntarily with commitment for the scout movement, at the national level. This is organized in line with the World Scouts’ Day, which falls on February 22.

The President was presented a special award for his contribution towards the progress of the scout movement.

Minister Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, Deputy Director Manusha Nanayakkara, Chief Scout Commissioner Prof. Nimal De Silva, President of Sri Lanka Scout Association Srinath Gunarathne and the Deputy Chief Commissioner Attorney at Law Janaprith Fernando were among those participated in this occasion.

01 (5)02 (4)03 (2) 05 (2) 07 (2) 09 (1) 10 (1) 11 (1) 12 13 14 15 16


© 2017 - Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka