Presidential Media Unit Default Banner

The Governor of the Eastern Province, Mr. Austin Fernando has been appointed as the new Secretary to the President and he received his letter of appointment from President Maithripala Sirisena at the President’s Official Residence,, today (July 04).

He is one of the most senior civil servants of the country and he holds a Masters (MA) in Public Administration from the University of Sri Jayewardenepura.

Earlier in his illustrious career, he served as the Government Agent for Polonnaruwa District and Nuwara Eliya District. He was later appointed as the Commissioner of Cooperative Development and Postmaster General. He became the Permanent Secretary of Ministry of Rehabilitation, Ministry of Public Administration, Home Affairs and Provincial Councils. He was appointed as the Defence Secretary in the Unity Government.  

Mr. Kapila Waidyaratne and Lieutenant General Mahesh Senanayake were appointed as the new Defense Secretary and the new Commander of Army respectively.   

Former Foreign Minister, Mr. Rohitha Bogollagama was sworn in as the Governor of Eastern Province before President Maithripala Sirisena. This position became vacant due to the resignation of former Governor, Mr. Austin Fernando.  

01 (2) 02 (3) 03


© 2017 - Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka