Presidential Media Unit Default Banner

President Maithripala Sirisena says the Government has not taken any decision to make any changes to the school uniform.

He made these remarks participating in the annual prize giving ceremony of the Sri Chandananda Buddhist College, Asgiriya, today (16).

The education system centered on the Piriven and temples nourished the then Sri Lankan society with human values and passionate, the President said that adding all the religious leaders should commit  themselves to build a society which closely associate with religious places.

President Sirisena said that the modern-day  internet and Facebook are being destroyed moral values of the children in today’s society and said that the disciplines of the children should be build along with their education.

He also said that various attempts are being made through the internet and some media institutions , to spread disharmony among communities and to make the country unrest.  He further said that if any individual or organization act obstructing the day-to-day life  of the people,  it is a matter of their education and civilization.

The President said that when he asked the Archbishop of Colombo, His Eminence Malcolm Cardinal Ranjith, regarding a statement made by a person during an interview with  a private news channel that 166 Catholic churches were attacked during the past few months, the Archbishop of Colombo said that such incidents were not reported. The President further said that he vehemently reject such kind of statements made by some persons misleading the society.

The President presented certificates and awards for the students who showed outstanding performance at the school.

The Maha Sangha including Mahanayaka Thero of the Asgiriya Chapter Ven. Warakagoda Sri Gnanarathana Thero, Anu Nayaka of Malwathu Chapter Ven. Niyangoda Vijithasiri  Thero, the Principal of the School, Ven. Dr. Godagama Mangala thero, Ministers Lakshman Kiriella, S. B. Disanayake, Wijedasa Rajapakse and many others participated in this event.


© 2017 - Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka