The Parliament of Sri Lanka is the 225-member unicameral legislature of Sri Lanka.The members of Parliament are elected by proportional representation for five-year terms, with universal suffrage. Parliament reserves the power to make all laws. It is modeled after the British Parliament.

The Speaker or, in his absence the Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Committees or the Deputy Chairman of Committees, presides over Parliament.

The nation’s President has the power to summon, suspend, prorogue, or terminate a legislative session and to dissolve the Parliament.

Of the 225 members, 196 are elected from 22 electoral districts, which are multi-member. The remaining 29 MPs are elected from National Lists allocated to the parties (and independent groups) in proportion to their share of the national vote.

Contact Info :

Address Parliament of Sri Lanka
Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte,
Sri Lanka.
Telephone +94 11 2777100
Fax +94 11 2777227