Presidential Media Unit Default Banner

The President Maithripala Sirisena held a discussion to launch a programme to distribute land deeds for the 60 temples in 16 districts with parallel to the grand celebration of International Vesak day celebration, at the Presidential Secretariat yesterday (April 05).

The religious land deeds were granted to the settled incumbent monks and junior monks to assure the safety of the temples in government lands following the Land Settlement Ordinance.

Following the instructions given by the President, the programme was organised by the Ministry of Buddha Sasana and the Department of Buddhist Affairs with the operational support of Ministry of Lands and Land Commissioner General.

Kotte Sri Kalyani Samagri Dharma Maha Sangha Sabawa Chapter, Ven. Iththapane Dhammalankara Thero and venerable monks, Land Minister, Mr. John Amarathunga, State Minister, Mr. T.B Ekanayaka, Secretary of Ministry of Land, Mr. I.H.K Mahanama, Land Commissioner General and Mr. R.M Chandra Herath joined this occasion.


© 2017 - Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka