02 (8)

President Maithripala Sirisena handed over the title deeds to another 65 victims of the Meethotamulla tragedy under the second phase of the programme to provide houses for the displaced persons, whose houses were completely destroyed due to the collapse of a section of the Meethotamulla garbage dump, at the Ministry of Disaster Management Auditorium, yesterday (April 25).

Recently, 30 families received new houses under the first phase. The government has spent 392 million rupees for these houses.

Moreover, Rs. 250,000.00 will be granted to each beneficiary of the houses to purchase furniture.

If the values of the destroyed houses exceed the calculated value, the difference will also be paid in cash to respective families, in the future.

The President, who participated in distributing title deeds to the victims, took steps to present a title deed to a woman who is in a wheelchair, at the entrance of the Ministry of Disaster Management.

Ministers Susil Premajayantha, Patali Champika Ranawaka, Vajira Abeywardena, Deputy Ministers Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Dunesh Gankanda and Member of Parliament S. M. Marikkar were among those participated at this event.

04 (5)

03 (5)

01 (7)

05 (3)


© 2017 - Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka