The awards ceremony of the President’s Gold Cup Volleyball Championship – 2016 was held yesterday (Dec. 07) at the stadium of the National Youth Center in Maharagama, under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena.

Celebrating the centaury of introducing the volleyball to Sri Lanka, the book ‘Sri Lanka Volleybolayata Siyawask’, written by Mr. Susil Ranasinghe, former Secretary to the Sri Lanka Volleyball Association was presented to the President at this occasion. 

The President unveiled the volleyball plaque built to mark the Volleyball Century.  Postmaster General Rohana Abeyratne presented a souvenir stamp issued for the volleyball century, to the President at this occasion.

Volleyball teams representing all districts of Sri Lanka competed for the President’s Gold Cup Volleyball Championship – 2016. The President presented awards to four victorious teams out of them.

Ministers Dayasiri Jayasekara, Ranjith Siyambalapitiya, State Ministers Sudarshani Fernandopulle, Dilan Perera and the President of the Sri Lanka Volleyball Association Eranda Veliange were among those participated in this occasion.


© 2017 - Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka