President Maithripala Sirisena has appointed a Presidential Commission of inquiry to investigate into the acts of corruption and frauds that have been alleged committed in state institutions during the period from January 15, 2015 to December 31, 2018.

The responsibility of this Presidential Commission is to summon public complaints, information and other details and to swiftly conduct impartial and comprehensive investigation into allegations against individuals who held or remain in political positions as well as against the public servants and officers of the statutory boards, who held or remain in those positions, regarding serious losses or damage caused to state assets and revenue as a result of the acts of corruption, frauds and criminal breach of trust, criminal misappropriation of property, cheating and abuse of power or authority, state resources and privileges, committed by those individuals during the period from January 15, 2015 to December 31, 2018 at the state institutions.

The Commission also identifies persons who were responsible or those who are currently responsible in accordance with the regulations and laws and to collect evidence on those offences or acts.

Retired Supreme Court Judge Upali Abeyrathne was appointed as the Chairmen of this Presidential Commission and other members are retired High Court Judge Sarojani Kusala Weerawardhana, retired Auditor General Pasdun Korale Arachchige Premathilake, retired Ministry Secretary Lalith.R.De Silva and retired Deputy Inspector General of Police M.K.D. Wijaya Amarasighe.

Instructions are made to handover the first report within three months, the final report composed of conclusions and illustrations within six months to President Maithripala Sirisena.

62,50,000 lacks of people of this country voted Maithripala Sirisena on 8th of January 2018 in order eradicate fraud and corruption in the country. President Sirisena who took steps for that within his tenure has taken another step for this objective by establishing this commission. This will enable to make the theme, “A Sri Lanka without corruption,“ a reality.


© 2017 - Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka