President Maithripala Sirisena says persons who question as to what the present Government has done should understand clearly the difference between the past system of this country and the present situation.

The President further said that he will make the change that the country needed, facing whatever the challenges come before him. He made these remarks participating in a ceremony to vest the newly constructed state-of-the-art six-storey clinical building at the Warakapola Base Hospital with the Public, yesterday (16).

The change that has emerged in every sector of this country is very clearly visible and an independent judicial system has been established in the country, the President said.

The Government has taken many steps to strengthen the free health service in the country and today we have accomplished many tasks that could not be completed for the free health service of the country due to many obstacles. He emphasized that the government was not prepared to go behind multinational companies and added that the Government is ready to fulfill its responsibilities towards the public.

President Sirisena further said that in addition to the requirements of a hospital, the attention should also be drawn regarding the essential facilities of the staff including the plans to solve the accommodation issues of the staff while constructing hospital buildings.

President Maithripala Sirisena when he was the Health Minister laid the foundation stone for this building and this six-storey clinical building built at a cost of Rs. 1103 million.

After opening the new building, the President made an inspection tour of the hospital and visited the Operation Theatre, Intensive Care Unit and the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit established at the newly constructed building.

Ministers Rajitha Senaratne, Ranjith Siyabalapitiya, State Minister, Champika Premadasa, Mrs. Thusitha Wijemanne, MP, Director of the hospital, Dr. S.M.N.S.M. Mallawarachchi and the staff of the hospital participated at this occasion.

2 5 6 8 10 11 12


© 2017 - Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka